top of page
  • Writer's pictureByeol

Paradox



Disclaimer : This poem might cause you to feel a roller coaster of emotions. Feelings may vary from person to person.


The night wind has always been chilly

and I have always stood alone on the dark path

not knowing what was in my sight

for nothing and no one was ever around.


But last night, the moon shone bright,

shedding a little bit of light onto the dark ground.

Felt nice to see something different in so long,

but the bright light blinded my sight.


Today, I wake up again

finding comfort in the littlest things like coffee and kitties

ignoring the never-ending numbing pain

Waiting for the day I will be in my thirties

(with the hope that I will be happier). Then comes the person

with the brightest smile,

with their radiant energy,

striking me hard like caffeine

with their "no pain no gain!"


Having the moon lights the dark night feels good

but really, what harm is there to have the bad things

flow and pass along with the rainstorm?

Perhaps then, there will be a rainbow shining my dark night.


P/S : I appreciate every single attempt to spread positivity and kindness, but can we please stop invalidating their feelings? We know. We know we have to fight this. We do not need you to push us into the arena, we need you to support us from outside the ring. Thank you.




Proofread by Ilyana Elisa & Illya-Wardina

Published by Aisyah Hanim

Comments


bottom of page