top of page
  • Writer's pictureA coffee lover

WARM COLORS



I lit the fire to my mind as the liquid flows down through my esophagus,

It feels like the adrenaline is rushing through my vessels up to my brain,

In here it gets messy as the sounds start to shout over one another.

I take another sip as my mind takes it trips to another nation,

All I see is warm colors, blending in while giving into the sensation,

Like brown in my cup, it gets pale when the melting process of the ice happens.

At ease is what I crave, together with the flame and warmness in my head,

It is okay, I said to myself, taking another shot of the dark blended substance,

The warm colors now give me a little hit at the back, a pat, I guess.

Now all is left is half of the brown in my cup, just like the time I wasted in my head,

Wishing to sell the time to whoever that needs it longer,

But oh honey, all I can do is smile and consume the substance, over and over.



The message of this poem is for you to be grateful for the hours you have even though today feels much longer than the other days. No matter how many iced coffee you consume, the

time will still pass by you so try to make it significant despite having nothing to do within the hours. Do something, not in your head but with your body. Move, do the workout you

wanted to do since last month, do the assignments that are piling up, watch that movie in your bucket list, write a diary if it makes you feel better. Anything. It is never too late to start something if you embrace and spend the time you have now, wisely. Time is priceless, therefore, never take it for granted.



Proofread by Ilyana Elisa & Illya-Wardina

Published by Aisyah Hanim

Comments


bottom of page